R.I.P. Christina Grimmie

2016-06-11T060541Z_1301872140_S1AETJFWNTAA_RTRMADP_3_FLORIDA-SHOOTING.JPG.cf

Before today, I hate to admit that I had never heard of Christina Grimmie.  And I still have not even watched her perform.  But I know all that I need to know…some whacko out there selfishly and needlessly snuffed out a young talent.

I read the details just now on the internet:  Details of Grimmie’s shocking death are still forthcoming, but according to police, she was shot during a post-concert autograph signing/meet-and-greet at Orlando’s Plaza Live Theater. The 27-year-old suspect, now identified as Kevin James Loibl of St. Petersburg, Florida, apparently targeted Grimmie, traveling to Orlando commit the crime and somehow making it past the venue’s security screening with two guns and a knife. After Loibl fired at the singer, her brother, Marcus Grimmie, heroically tackled Loibl at the scene. The suspect then fatally shot himself. Grimmie died five hours later at an Orlando hospital.

She obviously cared for her fans as can be witnessed from the above-mentioned actions.  Yet one of them got through security and committed an atrocity that is affecting perhaps millions of people emotionally.

You do not have to necessarily be famous to be killed in such a manner.  I have a daughter and two step-daughters; and it disturbs me to know that people like that exist in this world.  It makes me fear for their safety.  And forgive my insensitivity by using words like “whacko”; but when such a person takes away a life that was not his to take away, I feel that I should be allowed to use whatever the hell word I want to use.  And let it be known here that if anyone ever harms anyone in my family in such a way, I will use every resource out there to exact my revenge up to and including torture, mutilation, and all out murder to avenge the loss.

It is now getting to the point where it is not safe for artists to perform their creative endeavors without fear of insanity tragically befalling them.  And this is pure bullshit.  Why don’t these people get help?  I understand that they sometimes may not realize they are sick.  But what about people that know these people?  Why don’t they intervene by contacting the proper authorities?  If such had been the case with Kevin James Loibl, perhaps Christina Grimmie would still be alive to grace her audience with another angelic performance.

So I wish to express my most sincere condolences to her family and pray for God’s comfort during this most difficult time.  Rest in peace, Christina Grimmie.

 

Leave a Reply

