Raw Raving Review: Assassin’s Creed Black Flag

image

I haven’t yet finished this video game, but Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag is an amazing adventure for geeks like me who appreciate it when video game developers do their homework on historical data.
Personally, I have always been intrigued and fascinated enough by pirate lore to read up anything I can as the opportunities arise. And most of what I’ve seen in this game’s mechanics seem very accurate to most of what I’ve read.
Perhaps the only thing that I have seen in this game that seems different about Blackbeard is that he actually put beads of gunpowder in his beard just before a battle.  He would then ignite them causing a bunch of sparks that would not only distract his opponents but would ultimately terrify them, possibly giving us a very early example of psychological warfare. In the game, the sparks were attached to some kind of harness he wore under his hat. But all this is forgivable being that it still indicates his ability to put fear into his enemies.
I think that the game does a good job of its portrayal of the legendary pirate.  I thoroughly enjoyed fighting alongside him during boarding actions at sea.
As is the case with most of the Assassin’s
Creed games, this game is rich on story and additional historical details. It is also very loyal to the legend of what it really must have been like to be a pirate during the Golden Age of Piracy.
I give this game 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

