To Hell with Politics!

rubens_bill_and_monica

In most cases, if a politician’s lips are moving, then he or she is lying.  At least, this is the case here in America.  I don’t know if the same can be said in other countries.  But I imagine that it probably can.

Here in America, our government has become known as being heavily corrupt and abusive toward its rights and the people it claims to support.  The Republicans blame the Democrats.  The Democrats blame the Republicans.  And the finger-pointing never ends!  It is enough to make even the most patriotic citizens say, “To hell with politics!”, and then move to Australia or Europe.

Our country’s government has been racked with more scandals than it cares to admit.  At least a couple of presidents have run their business like kings in a monarchy.  And neither political party is blameless in all the muck of it.

Personally, I think more like the Republicans than I do the Democrats.  But there are things I cannot stand about both parties.  My biggest complaint against the Dems is that they tend to believe in a lot of things that I do not agree with due to my conservative upbringing.  On the other side of the river, I cannot stand the GOP because of their good-ole-boy network in which you have to have money to be able to be equal to everyone else.  They do not believe in a fair flat tax.  They want the working class to pay the majority of the taxes, while they keep sipping their tea and smoking their Dutch Masters in the halls of power (that is unless the Dutch Masters have been relocated into some intern’s vagina somewhere).  It really turns my stomach!

Then we have the IRS scandal…that lovely organization that loves to tax the shit out of all of us.  And didn’t we have a revolution a couple or few hundred years ago to get away from being taxed to death?  Hell!  It appears that our government has become our own King George!

What is the answer?

Some conspiracy theorists will have you believe that the current government needs to be overthrown.  And I’m not too sure that I disagree.  But realistically, I know that any government in the world has the potential to be abusive to the people it claims to govern.  I hate to admit that all of this makes me wonder why the hell the American Revolution ever took place at all.  Some self-proclaimed patriots will try to convince me that “at least now we have tax with representation”.  But, to them, I say:  “My ass!  As long as we have an electoral college, there is no such thing as representation.”  After all, how many times have to majority of the people voted for one individual to only have the electoral college offset it?

So what do you feel the answer happens to be?  As for me, when all the shit starts flying, I choose to duck down and stay clear.

Leave a Reply

