Knock Knock…Who’s There? Ebola. Ebola WHO?

ebolaOkay…so Ebola is not a very good subject for knock-knock jokes…

But to me, it is not a good subject period.

According to Wikipedia:

Ebola virus disease (EVD) or Ebola hemorrhagic fever (EHF) is the human disease caused by the Ebola virus. Symptoms typically start two days to three weeks after contracting the virus, with a fever, sore throat, muscle pains, and headaches. Typicallynausea, vomiting, and diarrhea follow, along with decreased functioning of the liver and kidneys. At this point, some people begin to have bleeding problems.[1]  

More information can be found in the full article on Wikipedia.

The bad news is that two Americans have been permitted to come back into the country after acquiring this scary-ass disease in Africa!  But the good news is that the first patient is reportedly doing better at a hospital located somewhere in Atlanta.

First of all, if I was crazy enough to go over there and get the disease, I would be considerate enough to contact the local government, telling them to set up a quarantine at my location.  Then, I would not even consider leaving the country until after I was cured.  And I would contact my own government and ask them to send professionals to come and help me.  If the disease killed me, so be it — we should always be willing to accept the consequences for the decisions we make, no matter how careless.  The last thing I would ever want to do is risk spreading this awful disease to others.

Some may argue that both victims were working with a charitable organization to help others who had contracted the disease.  To me, this is very commendable, but still no reason for them to willfully chance spreading the disease here, there, or anywhere else.  But for them to be allowed to leave Africa…!  Which brings me to my next point:  Why the hell are they being allowed back into the United States of America?  Whatever happened to the policy where Americans were kept safe by the government claiming to keep them so?

The fact that the government so haphazardly took the lives of billions of Americans for granted makes me question whether or not the report mentioned above is not just propaganda.  How the hell are we to know for sure that some careless nurse did not accidentally track the guy’s fecal matter into the hospital cafeteria causing an epidemic to spread throughout Atlanta?  After all, if such a thing did happen, would the government not try to prevent the word from getting out so as to divert a nationwide panic from ensuing?

I do hope that the two American victims both stage a full recovery of the virus, but I really do not appreciate that they were willing to bring the disease right to America’s doorstep and into our house.  And I do not appreciate that the man of the house permitted this unruly visitor in, making it feel very welcome indeed:  “Please, come in.  Go ahead.  Dine with us at our table.  It doesn’t matter that you are bleeding out the ass onto the very seat cushions me and my family will be sitting upon from time to time.  It’s all good!”

I remember seeing the news last week, talking about how 20 airports were quarantined.  My guess is that these were airports that offered and received flights to and from international destinations.  I have to be blatantly honest.  It scared the living crap out of me!  And I’m still not entirely feeling at ease with how all of this was handled.

Is anyone else at all concerned that this was permitted to happen?

Leave a Reply

