One Man’s Art is Another Man’s MIsinterpretation

Image

As you can see in the picture above, one man’s art is another man’s misinterpretation.  This guy clearly did not know what to think of this statue!  So he decided to go in for a much closer look.  I guess, maybe he thought he may have been missing something.

Some people could easily let their dog take a dump in their living room, spray some fixer all over it, and call it art.  As a matter of fact we can oftentimes see food masquerading as art!  If you watch all the various cooking shows, so much time is spent on presentation that I wouldn’t be sure whether I should eat it or frame it!

A long time ago me and some of my buddies got drunk and ended up in a doughnut shop.  It had been the first time I ever saw these balls of baked dough that were almost the size of a hush puppy.  So I asked the woman, in my drunken slur,”What the hell are those?”

She answered:  “Doughnut holes.”

My booze-filled mind tried to wrap itself around that answer but couldn’t.  So I protested:  “No they’re not.”

And she looked at me, really aggravated.

And I told her:  “Please don’t look at me in that tone of voice.”  And then I commenced to pleading my case.  “You cannot eat an inanimate object.”

At this point, she grinned at me.  “Sir, it’s the center of the doughnut.”

All but one of my buddies, the sober one, were in total agreement with me.  One of them said:  “Then why don’t you call them doughnut centers?”

“But they are the same thing,” she tediously tried to argue.  “We call them holes, because when you take them out, a hole is left behind.”

I looked at my friends and told them:  “Here we are, Marines on the front line of defense, protecting a country that wants to mislead us.  What is up with that?”

My sober friend tried to explain that what the girl was saying made perfect sense.  One of my other buddies told him that he should go back there and help her sell doughnut centers.  So as you could see, this little piece of edible art that someone decided to call doughnut holes sparked a little bit of controversy!  The misinterpretation formed the very heart of this controversy.

Normally, when looking at art, we look at shape, line, space, color, texture, and various other appreciative qualities.  It even works the same way with food.

So before we pass judgment on the artwork of others, let us first try to look at it with an open mind.  And then — and then only then! — shall we pass judgement!

Leave a Reply

