Dangerous Mathematics

Image

I hate to admit that I have only so far retained only about half of what I learned in college, and — unfortunately for me — college algebra is not one of the things I remember very well.  However, I DO happen to know that 1 + 1 + 1 + 1 + 1 is NOT 1.  But the Obama Administration would have us think so and actually break the law doing it.

For those who haven’t been watching the news and and don’t know what I am talking about, President Obama just recently broke with tradition from the “zero negotiation with terrorists” policy by trading five terrorists (I believe I’ve heard that three of them masterminded the 9/11 attacks!) for one soldier, a guy named Bowe Bergdahl. (I believe I may have read somewhere that the guy was an army deserter).  GOP lawmakers have stated that he has broken the law by conducting this prisoner swap.

Did Obama break the law with these actions?  I guess it depends on who you talk to.  One elderly woman I spoke with the other day told me that all the presidents have been conducting prisoner swaps for years in total secrecy.  If this is true, then I guess Obama’s transparency is to be commended.  But without seeing proof with my own eyes, I have to withhold that commendation.

In my personal opinion, trading 5 bad apples, three of them literally explosive (!!!), for one guy who unlawfully left his post is just asinine.  Not only does it put the lives of countless Americans at risk, it also sets a bad precedent and sends the following message to terrorists:  “All we need to do is kidnap as many infidels as possible so that we can free all of our brothers in terror!”  I don’t know about you guys, but I think the messenger of such a message should be shot.  

I’ve heard people argue:  “If that had been you, wouldn’t you have wanted to be freed so that you could get back to your family.”  To this, I answer:  “When I served in the Marines, I never deserted my post.”  There was a time when I was 24-hours UA (unauthorized absence) in Mackay, Australia.  I had the following conversation with my officer and staff NCO (noncomissioned officer) in charge:

“Where the hell were you, Sanderson?”…this, from my staff NCO.

“I’m sorry.  I thought we had to be back by noon today instead of yesterday.”

“You need to listen more carefully when you are in liberty formation, Lance Corporal.”

“You never answered my question, Sanderson.  Where were you?”

My staff NCO would not let this go!

“I was with a girl I met last night.”

The two men looked at each other with grins on their faces.

“Did you get some pussy?” my staff NCO asked.

Reluctantly I nodded my head, trying unsuccessfully to hide my grin.

“Right answer, Lance Corporal,” said my OIC.  “Dismissed.”  I snapped to attention, did an about face, and left his cabin feeling very lucky that they were letting that slide.  

So there are a lot of questions left by this trade:

  1. Was it really unlawful?
  2. Is anything going to happen to the president?  (It seems like nothing ever does, like he can do whatever the hell he wants without any fear of reprisal.)
  3. Was the swap really worth the cost?
  4. Will Bergdahl face the music for his desertion?
  5. Will this action change our policy toward terrorist negotiation?
  6. Did Bergdahl get any pussy while he was not where he was supposed to be?

 

Leave a Reply

